Here is how to clear Live Tile notifications at Sign Out in Windows 10

Windows 10 combines perfectly the best aspects from Windows 8.1 and Windows 7, so you may find some familiarity here. One of the most noteworthy features Microsoft retains from the previous versions lies in Live Tiles you see in the Start Menu on Windows 10.


Basically, Live Tiles provide you with useful information about apps and services you are now using on Windows 10, eliminating the need to directly open the app. However, at times Live Tiles may become a cause of annoyance, as they keep displaying the same update. Fortunately, Windows 10 allows you to clear Live Tile notifications for apps at Sign Out.

In this guide, we will show you how to clear Live Tile notifications for apps as you sign out or restart your PC in Windows 10.

Note that the below-mentioned step-by-step guide aims to edit the registry, which may put you at risks, so make sure that you do it correctly. We strongly recommend you create a full backup of your computer before moving ahead.

Step one: First off, you are supposed to use the Windows key + R keyboard shortcut to bring up the Run command. Once you are done, type regedit and all you need to do is to click OK to open the registry

Step two: Once you are done, browse the following path HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\

Step three: Next up, you need to perform a right-click on the Windows folder key, click on New and select Key from the drop-down menu

Step four: All you need to do now is to name the key Explorer and you are now supposed to press Enter. After that, you need to select the Explorer folder under the Windows section, right click on the right side and select New

Step five: Next up, you need to click on DWORD (32-bit) Value. After that, you need to name the DWORD  ClearTilesOnExit and hit the Enter button

Step six: Once you are done, double-click on the DWORD you have just created and change the value to 1. Once when it is done, you need to close the registry. After that, restart your computer to save changes.

Once you are done, Windows 10 will clear Live Tile notifications on the Start Menu when you are signing out and Live Tiles remain empty when you sign back in.

Also read: Steps to merge your Skype account and Microsoft accounts on Windows 10

Don’t forget to let us know if you stumble upon any issues during the process. We strongly recommend you follow along to avoid irreversible damage to your installation.



We love comments
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Your data will be safe! Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person. Required fields marked as *