Here is how to automatically empty Trash in MacOS Sierra after 30 days

If you are one of those who frequently dump items into the Trash on your Mac, but you forget to empty the Trash regularly, your Trash becomes a mess and takes up a considerable amount of your Mac’s storage. Fortunately, there is a new feature in MacOS which allows the Trash to automatically empty itself after 30 days.

65

In this guide, we will walk you through the steps to set Trash to automatically empty in MacOS after 30 days. Before we begin, make sure that you are running MacOS Sierra 10.12 or newer, as earlier versions of MacOS don’t include the ability to automatically remove items from the trash can.

Steps to automatically empty Trash in MacOS Sierra after 30 days

Step one: First off, you are supposed to head to Finder menu on your Mac and select “Preferences” to proceed

Step two: Once you are done, all you need to do is to go to the Advanced tab and tick the box next to Remove items from the Trash after 30 days option

Step three: You are now supposed to exit out of Finder preferences to complete the task. Once you have successfully enabled the feature, all of items in the Trash on your Mac will be automatically deleted after 30 days.

Steps to bring back accidentally trashed files on your Mac

If you accidentally put a file to the Trash on your Mac, you can easily bring it back using a Put Back feature in MacOS. Here is how you can do this:

Step one: First off, you need to open the Trash and select the files you wish to put back to its original location on your Mac

Step two: Once you are done, right-click on that file and select Put Back to send the file back to its original location.

Also read: Tired of reading? Here is how you can make your iPhone read on-screen text aloud to you

Got any questions? Let us know in the comments below.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Comments

We love comments
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Your data will be safe! Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person. Required fields marked as *